PSL 3: IU vs PZ – Islamabad United Became A Champion Again

Photo Credit:

In the third edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL), Islamabad united defeated Peshawar Zalmi and won the title of Pakistan Super League Champion.

Photo Credit:

Peshawar Zalmi’s captain Darren Sammy won the toss and decided to bat first in the final of the PSL played in Karachi’s National Stadium.

The Peshawar Zalmi team suffered the first and greatest loss when Kamran Akmal returned to the pavilion after making a run.

Islamabad United did not have to wait much for second success and Patel got the second wicket of Mohammad Hafeez.

Zalmi’s troubles increased further when Andrey Fletcher went lbw out on a ball of Shadab Khan wicket and returned to the pavilion.

Liam Dawson came with Chris Jordan on the occasion, and both the players tried to wipe some tears of their team by setting up a 52-run partnership.

Both the players were looking set on the wicket, and Chris Jordan tried to show his efforts by scored six on Ummad Butt’s ball, but he failed to play another big shot on the next ball and went catch out.

Peshawar Zalmi didn’t forget the pain of this wicket, Hussain Talat got another wicket of Saad Nasim and sent him to the pavilion.

But Zalmai’s big score was blown up when Shadab Khan took the wickets of captain Darren Sammy and Umeed Asif on the two balls where both of the batsmen got out for bringing the pad in front of wickets.

READ  Match14: Lahore Qalandars Won Toss Against Peshawar Zalmi: Choose to Bat

There was nothing going in the favor with Peshawar Zalmi’s trouble, and Mohammad Sami took the wicket of Liam Dawson who scored 33 runs, while Hassan Ali’s innings were all over on six runs.

On this occasion, it seemed like that Peshawar Zalmi would out at a very low score, but Wahab Riaz stood against the bowlers of the Islamabad United Over in the last over and reached the team to a fair combination by scoring 28 runs on 14 balls.

Zalmi made 148 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in the given overs and gave the target of 149 to Islamabad Untied for victory.

It is clear that in the PSL final played in Lahore last year, Zalmi had scored 148 runs against Quetta Gladiators, but Gladiators scored 90 runs only.

When Islamabad United started to chase the target, Luke Ronchi continued the aggressive style of batting.

Ronchi took aggressive style against all the Zalmi’s bowlers including Hasan Ali and completed the half-century of the team in the fourth over.

Both the players set their victory over 96 runs for the first wicket and reached their team to the step of victory.

Ronchi got out after making 52 runs on 26 balls with 5 sixes and 4 fours, while Zalmi got second success later when Umeed Asif scored Chadwick Walton’s wickets.

The team was in full swing that Chris Jordan took a great catch on his own ball and forced JP Duminy to go back to the pavilion, while Wahab Riaz eliminated the resistance of Sahibzada Farhan with the help of Hassan Ali.

Captain Darren Sammy came on to bowl with his main weapon Hassan Ali, who out Shadab Khan with the thanks to the incredible catch of Patel and Chris Jordan on his own ball.

READ  PSL Final 2018: Tickets Prices Have Announced

On the occasion, the Peshawar Zalmi match was expected to come back and they got another chance to succeed when Asif Ali played a high shot but Kamran Akmal failed to catch it.

This left of the catch prove the turning point of the match, and Asif Ali scored three sixes on next three balls and ensure his team’s victory.

Fahim Ashraf hooked six on Wahab Riaz’s ball in the next over and Islamabad United achieved the honor of becoming a Champion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.